The BEST of 2010 – Fashion Related

It’s always fun to look back on the year and remind yourself just what you have (or, in some cases, haven’t yet) accomplished.  Every year I enjoy doing this.  Some years I have written it down online and others in my own personal journal (you know, the kind that requires ink and paper).  I really still love good, old, pen and ink. But, that’s another story for another day.  Today! Today we are going to take a look at the best of 2010…. all things fashion related, that is.

Let’s go!

Books:

– How to Be a Hepburn in a Hilton World – Jordan Christy

I haven’t finished this book quite yet, but I overheard some women talking about this book at work one day and the title totally captured my interest and the book, so far, is doing the same.

– The Gospel According to CoCo Chanel – Karen Karbo

I spotted this book in Anthropologie and knew I had to get it.

– The Fashion Book (Mini Edition) – Richard Martin

The A to Z list of the most famous designers, models and photographers in the fashion industry. A great little pocket guide for those who want to be in the know.

Websites/Blogs:

– Possessionista:: http://www.possessionista.com

I love scouring her blog (especially after a new episode of The Bachelor/Bachelorette).  She always has most of the outfits from what the girls on each of these shows (and other shows as well) were wearing.

– J. Crew Aficionada:: http://jcrewaficionada.blogspot.com/

If you happen to love J. Crew like I do, this blog has the 411 on sales and discounts!

– Rue La La:: http://www.ruelala.com/

This little gem of a website has great sales on a variety of items (both for the home and for your wardrobe).  If you’re not a member, just sign up – it’s FREE – (https://www.ruelala.com/registration?referrerId=MTc4ODI5Nw==&eKey=b3BlbnJlZ0BydWVsYWxhLmNvbQ==&aid=1320)

Movies/TV:

– Coco Before Chanel (movie)

This movie was absolutely fascinating!  I really enjoyed hearing about her life before she became, well, Chanel.  I loved her rather humble upbringing as well as her humble  start in the world of fashion.

– Project Runway (tv show)

I watched a few seasons (thank you Hulu!) of this show and really enjoyed seeing the “in’s” and “out’s” of the fashion design world.

I know there are hundreds of other movies/tv shows that are fashion related out there, but these are just the ones I have had time / desired to watch.

Have a wonderful, happy and safe New Year’s!  There are good things a-coming in 2011…. I have lots in store so be sure to check back soon!  Fashion emergency? Email away! Shopformekate(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

