Katie’s Rule of 3

Oh, dear readers, I have been MIA, and for that, I apologize.  Chalk it up to…… shopping!  Writing!  Working!  Attending graduate classes!  But, I’m back!  I’m back to let you in on a little secret that I created several years ago to help with the overwhelming question I asked myself: “what’s my style?!”

This little secret is nothing Earth-shaking, but it really did help me figure out what clothes I wanted to purchase and what “my style” is.  I bounce around anywhere from vintage to urban…. but, before I knew these pieces of information, I developed… the 3 celeb. secret.

It all comes down to me and three celebrities or people whose style I LOVE.  I picked celebrities simply because you can find their outfits posted all over the internet – easily accessible.   I chose three because, well, it is not enough to make your head spin and just enough to give you plenty of choices in wardrobe decisions.

My list?

1) Katie Holmes

Way back when, I found this little gem of a website that detailed most of the outfits Katie wore.  http://katieholmes.com/style/  It was my go-to guide for the style of clothes I wanted to wear/find/mimic.

2) Zooey Deschanel

There is a rumor that may or may not be true that I told my sister to say the celebrity I reminded her of was Zooey Deschanel.  I love her vintage style and knew I wanted to dress like she does.

3) Kate Middleton

Long before her engagement to Prince William, I have loved Kate’s style.  She dresses in such a classy way that I adore nearly all of her outfits.

Three celebrities with three different styles.  All of whose style I love.  I definitely put my own tweak on things when I shop and style myself, but it is good to have a guide map and these three celebs help me define and refine my style.

Hope this gets you thinking about what your style is and if there are any celebs out there whose style you can glean a tiny bit of direction from.  As always, I’d love to help, too!

I’m just an email away at: shopformekate(at)yahoo(dot)com.

 

Leave a Reply

