A Girl With A PLAN

It’s not rocket science, but it sure changed my shopping strategy, if you will.   In my previous shopping endeavors, I’d stick to my favorite couple of mid-range priced stores and call it a day.

I have always considered myself neat and organized.  My shopping experience should have been no different.  But, it was.   I was swirling around the same old stores and hoping for different results.   I was a shopping disaster.  I had no strategy or even idea of what I was looking for (that’s another post for another day).

But, the day THE PLAN dawned on me, I became aware of a different way to shop.  My shopping experiences have never been the same since.

This plan….. is just my plan and it works for me.  I do hope, however,  you find it useful and again, it’s not rocket science or anything.

Here’s how you can become a girl with A PLAN::

1) Pick 1 or more retail store(s) (or any shopping store category you are attacking – be it interiors, fashion, etc) that fall into these three categories:

:: Below budget

:: At budget

:: Beyond budget

While the goal is to not always find yourself spending beyond your budget, it is fun to have a few pieces in your wardrobe that are splurges alongside your more wallet-friendly purchases and steals.

This has kept my wardrobe with a mix of all kinds of clothes at every level. Only you can decide how far beyond your budget you’re willing to go, but the idea is not to empty your wallet.

If you’d like some help figuring out your stores for each category, I’d love to help! Email me any time at: shopformekate(at)yahoo(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “A Girl With A PLAN

  1. Hi Katie – this is great. I completely agree with you about sometime splurging on those one or two pieces that make everything else you wear look that much better.
    My problem these days is not knowing how to dress for my age. At 54 I feel silly wearing some of the latest trends, but I don’t want to start dressing like an old lady. Know what I mean?? Have a great Christmas. Grace

  2. Grace,

    Thank you so much for commenting and for your kind words!!! I know, splurging on some pieces (be it shoes, necklaces, etc) can truly add so much to your outfit.

    I wouldn’t worry about wearing some of the latest trends. As long as you feel confident and comfortable in what you’re wearing (and not thinking about what other people think), you will rock it. Try one trend that you LOVE at a time. See what you think about it and go from there and since you don’t look your age, that helps! 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas, too!

Leave a Reply

